Salted Chocolate Cake Pops

Boy oh boy…you’d think I’d learn, but noooo! I hop on Pinterest or YouTube, see adorably decorated cake pops and go, “I can make those! Cake pops are easy!”

And then reality hits, I’m covered in chocolate, and there’s the poor clumps of cake pop that didn’t make it through the war process.

For now, though, here are the few cake pops that made it to photographing!

20140809-130034-46834827.jpg

Now, I know that this time around, my problem was that I used too much frosting in my pops (a whole can…) They were too soggy for dipping despite me trying to freeze them overnight. Don’t make the same mistake I did. It’s tempting, but it’ll make the process so much more difficult!!

Albeit this week being a little more…interesting…these cake pops still turned out deliciously sweet and salty!

Salted Chocolate Cake Pops
Ingredients
– 1 box white cake mix, prepared per directions
– 1/2 can Chocolate frosting (I used the new chocolate caramel frosting from Hershey’s and I think it gives great depth of flavor to this recipe)
– 1 package dark chocolate candy melts
– lollipop sticks
– Sea salt

Directions
1. Crumble baked and cooled cake and combine with frosting until well mixed.
2. Using a small scoop, form 1 inch touch balls of dough.
3. Place balls onto wax paper lined baking sheet and freeze for one hour.
4. Re-roll balls in hands to form smooth round pops.
5. Melt a bit of chocolate and use to insert sticks into pops. Chill for 10 minutes.
6. In a tall glass microwave-safe container, melt Candy Melts. Submerge pops and tap off excess.
7. Place back on wax paper or in styrofoam to set. While chocolate is still went, sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt.
8. Cool in refrigerator until chocolate hardens.

Keep in mind, you’ll want a glass of milk or coffee with these. They are rich, chocolatey, and dense.

20140809-132254-48174875.jpg

Y’all, if you’ve got a secret on how to make foolproof cake pops I’d love to hear ’em in the comments below and make sure to “like” this post if you want to see more like it!

6 thoughts on “Salted Chocolate Cake Pops

Leave a Reply

