Chocolate Malted Cupcakes

Is there a certain dessert that completely encompasses summer for you?

There is this ice cream stand that I have been visiting since I was about five. It used to be a soft-serve ice cream stand that we would frequent after tee-ball games, and later became a frozen custard store. This shop serves chocolate and vanilla and two specialty flavors that change daily and is only open in the summertime. Every Sunday, however, they have this deliciously rich chocolate malted flavor that I cannot resist. There is nothing more on this Earth that reminds me of summertime with my family.

In lieu of red, white, and blue desserts (which I am saving for a 4th of July post!) I have made these Chocolate Malted Cupcakes.

20140524-224925.jpg

They are a little more advanced since I made the Malted Buttercream from scratch, but feel free to do some modifications to a canned frosting if you don’t want to make the extra effort. I’ll include directions/ingredients for that below too, just because I like you 😉

Chocolate Malted Cupcakes
Inspired by That Winsome Girl

Ingredients
For the cupcakes
– 1 chocolate cake mix, prepared
– 1/4 cup Malted Milk powder

Buttercream frosting
– 2 sticks butter, softened
– 1/4 cup Malted Milk powder
– 2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
– 3-5 cups powdered sugar (I don’t measure, I just taste)
– 1-3 Tablespoons milk, to desired thinness

Canned Frosting Modification
– 1 can chocolate frosting
– 1/4 cup Malted Milk powder

Directions
For cake:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 muffin pans with 24 cupcake liners.
2. Prepare boxed cake mix per directions and stir in Malted Milk powder.
3. Spoon batter into liners until each is about 2/3 full.
4. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
5. Let cool and make frosting.

For frosting:
1. Using a mixer, cream butter until smooth.
2. Add in Malted Milk powder and cocoa powder and blend until well mixed.
3. Add in powdered sugar a cup at a time until desired sweetness is obtained.
4. Thin frosting with milk, one tablespoon at a time, until frosting is thick, but pipe-able.
5. Spoon frosting into a piping bag (I used a large Wilton open star tip) and frost cooled cupcakes
OPTION #2: combine canned frosting and Malted Milk powder until smooth and pipe frosting as above.

20140524-230308.jpg

Side note: I ran out of liners after 12, so I baked the rest of my batter into a half-cake and used that for my taste test….all I’m saying is you should make this ASAP…

20140524-230422.jpg

Let me know what you think of this recipe and leave me a comment or photo if you make these at home!

Leave a Reply

